Sushi, hot yoga and Easter dinner

I just experienced my first Easter in Malaysia in very non-traditional way. Usually I kinda fast on Saturday eating mostly bread and dairy products, paint eggs on Saturday before noon, bring an Easter basket to Church to bless it and finally have the main celebration on Sunday morning over Easter breakfast. The atmosphere is magical, it is usually early spring with chilly weather, all shops are closed and I spend all day at home, appreciating quality time with my family.

Malaysia as a muslim country doesn’t celebrate Easter, although in some european shops you can find chocolate bunnies, filled eggs and some decorations (mostly for commercial reasons) but I haven’t found special paints to colour the eggs and some ingredients to prepare traditional food.

I wanted to implement a few traditions into my asian life but I have to admit that I kinda failed. I cooked eggs but made them with soy sauce and wasabi, I painted them but on Saturday night with oil paints, I had few almost- Easter dishes but celebrated and ate them on Sunday night… I was fasting avoiding meat, but instead of bread I have eaten sushi and when normally I spend time in the kitchen I was stretching myself on hot yoga. Sunday afternoon I spent shopping ( enjoying mid season sales) and working. And instead of trying to catch first rays of the spring sun, I was hiding myself in AC to rest from the heat and sun.

Can’t say that I felt the magical atmosphere of Easter but for sure I have checked a few traditional rituals and have learned an important lesson to organize myself better for next year… Or just fly to Poland, visit my family and experience the real magic again.

IMG_1777
 IMG_1626
 IMG_1742
IMG_1804
IMG_1912
 IMG_1760
IMG_1763
  IMG_1794

Leave a comment